1. Kiss From A Rose
  2. Lighthouse Keeper
  3. Dog Gone Crazy
  4. Merkaba
  5. Jamaica, Here I Come
  6. Mr. Misery
  7. Rockin' Jane
  8. I Won't Last A Day Without You
  9. Rockers Arena
  10. Sweet Jamaica (Instrumental)
  11. Merkaba (Instrumental)
  12. Kiss (Instrumental)
  13. Light (Instrumental) 

Release info :

“Ascension 2012” is the follow-up to Tengeh’s debut album with the perfectly fitting title “Launched”. Tengeh is the band/project of Max Edwards from Jamaica and Ione Oslinger from the U.S., both now resident in the Netherlands. Max Edwards not only was the former singer/drummer of Soul Syndicate and Zap Pow, but he also can be credited for numerous studio sessions with ace artists like Burning Spear, Heptones (Book of Rules), Sugar Minott, Israel Vibration, Freddie McGregor, Augustus Pablo and Jimmy Cliff. Nowadays, Max Edwards – in combination with Ione Oslinger – is the producer, songwriter, singer and musician of Tengeh.

The album kicks off with a rendition of Seal’s “Kiss From A Rose”, which actually happens to be a good introduction to the kind of sound and songs Tengeh provides on this album. They deliver a fresh, very sophisticated and full sound with a strong crossover feel, founded on mainly decent songs, good musicianship and mature male and female lead vocals. “Lighthouse Keeper”, sung by Ione, is a solid slow tempo tune containing fine backing vocals, a nice drum sample and some additional effects of the sea, underlining the lyrics of the song. The uptempo “Dog Gone Crazy” is a nice effort.

The follow-up track “Merkaba” is a strong cultural tune with a special flavor due to the pan flute and accordion in the backing. “Jamaica, Here I Come” happens to be an appealing song, undoubtedly belonging to the best this album has to offer. “Mr. Misery and “Rockin’ Jane” are decent contributions, fitting this album well. Before the instrumentals take over a tasty dessert is served with “Rockers Arena”, the title track of Max Edwards’ first solo album which was released in 1982.

Overall opinion is that Max Edwards’s project Tengeh has led to the release of an entertaining sophomore album.

Album review by Teacher & Mr. T | © Reggae Vibes Productions NL